Jellyfish Poem

One of my friends found a competition to write a poem about how amazing jellyfish are.  The prize was a national express train to the London Aquarium for the winner’s class.  Here is my poem.  I hope I win!

 

I met a lonely jellyfish swimming in the sea,

So I asked him if he’d like to come and talk to me.

 

He swam to me and told me about his tentacles that sting,

They protect him from predators. What a clever thing!

 

Once I found a jellyfish that was swept onto the sand,

It’s colour was pinky see through and it was bigger than my hand.

 

A group of jellyfish are called a bloom, a swarm or a smack.

They have no brain, no blood or nervous system or even have a back!

 

Jellyfish are not fish. They are often called Jellies.

They swim in the sea but don’t even have bellies!

 

Jellyfish are carnivores which means they eat meat,

Such as plankton and fish eggs. Oh what a treat!

 

The largest of the species is the Lion’s Mane.

The biggest found was over 2metres. Isn’t that insane?

 

He slowly said goodbye and swam into the sea,

I’m very lucky that he told these facts to me.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Jellyfish Poem”

  1. It ŵas a lovely surprise to find your latest blog as it has been quite a while since the last one. Your rhyming skills are excellent and I really enjoyed reading your poem. It has taught me a lot about jellyfish. Whether your poem wins the competition or not, I think it is a wonderful piece of writing and you should be proud of yourself. I am now looking forward to reading your next blog – maybe an account of Cub Camp after next weekend.

    Lots of love, Granny xxx

    Like

    1. thank you . my friend said thart we were only meant to send one off and we send them a month early so we have got to wait until june to see if we win.
      I will do one one cub camp my bag is packed and I am ready to go
      bye

      Like

  2. I expect Friday can’t come quickly enough. Glad to hear you are organised and your bag is packed ready for Camp. Hope you have lots of fun and enjoy the weekend xxx

    Like

Leave a comment